Saturday, August 2, 2014

Student Leaders' Investiture 2014

10:11 PM Posted by William Ming 威廉 No comments
On 11th July 2014, it was SST's third student leaders' investiture. This ceremony aims to give recognition to the new invested leaders in SST and officially welcome them into the leaders' boards. Parents of leaders and the SST Alumni were invited to attend the ceremony. Not only that, other schools, like Nanyang Girls High School and National Junior College were also invited. SST Secondary two and secondary three students were also present to witness the ceremony.

The various student leaders being invested in the ceremony were the Peer Support Board, Student Council, house captains and vice captains, CCA chairpersons and vice chairpersons, class chairpersons and vice chairpersons. 

Dr Jimmy Tang's Address to SST
Dr Jimmy Tang is the invited Guest of Honour for this ceremony. Dr Tang is the group editor of Singapore Press Holdings Pte Ltd and founder of Hardwarezone. Emcees for the ceremony were Kuzhalini and Pey Rong Song, both of whom were former Vice-Chairpersons of Student Council 2013. 

The ceremony started off with a walk in parade by all student leaders. After the leaders took their seat, Dr Tang gave his opening speech. Then, it was the time to present the badges to the student leaders. Mr Chua was invited on stage to give out the badges to the class chairpersons and vice chairpersons, CCA chairpersons and vice chairpersons. Dr Tang was then invited on stage to give out the badges to the Peer Support Board, Student Council, house captains and vice captains. 

                                                                                     Current Chairperson of Peer Support Board
Current Chairperson of Student Council

Next up were the speeches by former and current chairpersons of Peer Support Board and Student Council

Student Leaders reciting the Student Leaders' Oath
The leaders were then invited up once on stage again to recite the student leaders’ oath, which was led by current chairpersons of Peer Support Board and Student Council, Marcus Chan and Metta Ni, respectively. Following the SST tradition, the school sang the school song and did the SST’s cheer before officially closing the ceremony.

Written by:
Chew Yun Hui (S308)


Post a Comment